two years later: remembering guruji

Sharath Jois and Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, 1992

My teacher Eddie wrote an article for Namarupa Magazine in anticipation for today: the two-year anniversary of the death of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, called Guruji by his devotees. This anniversary is significant to me, not only as someone who studies and practices the Ashtanga lineage (which Guruji taught and made accessible to all), but also because it was exactly two years ago that my curiosity about Ashtanga piqued. In May 2009, I bought David Swenson‘s step-by-step instruction manual and began practicing in my tiny apartment. Soon after I found myself at Ashtanga Yoga New York, practicing daily with other Ashtangis and learning from one of Guruji’s original students.

Mysore, 2010: a post-practice treat of pressed sugarcane, sweet lime and ginger

Read Eddie Stern’s poignant article here, which sheds light on how Guruji learned yoga, and then learned to teach yoga. On this particular day, I’m reminded of the power of transmitting knowledge, sincerity, and compassion through the teacher/student relationship. Ashtanga has taught me many things, about the power of discipline, my tendency toward impatience, and about my hamstrings. I’m eternally grateful to Guruji, his family, and the devoted Ashtangis committed to this lineage.

I am teaching this ancient yoga to you, this day, since you are my friend and devotee. This secret is supreme indeed. (Bhagavad Gita 4.3)

Leave a Reply

