july | august spotlight on: learning (and loving it)

Nerd-alert confession: I loved school. I can admit it. And not just because I got to pass notes to my best friend all day and then eat a snack on the playground and swing from the jungle gym (yes, all great things about school). I loved learning. This love of learning didn’t seem so apparent on the nights I sobbed over my times tables homework (just ask my father), but like many things, I took a little time to grow into that space of learning that so many people helped create for me. It took some wonderfully earnest teachers, many mistakes and tears, and two very patient people called Mom and Dad to help me navigate. The love was there.
I just had to learn to love learning.

We know summer is perfect for lazing. We know that many kids lose a month (or more!) of learning from June to September. In the spirit of longer days, more downtime, and inspired by some life changes (see the list below), I dedicate the next two months to learning new things! Here’s my short list:

  • The art of flying. More specifically, the fine art of aerial silks. My friend Sarah is totally into it, and her enthusiasm has rubbed off on me. Who doesn’t want to hang upside down suspended from a silk rope in Williamsburg?

  • I will read the Bhagavad Gita (for the first time? how can this be?) cover to cover, in the hopes of learning something freshly compelling about this practice called yoga.

  • Norwegian. My Grandpa Gordon used to sing me a Norwegian nursery rhyme, Ride ride ranke, which is all about going to visit your Scandinavian grandparents on a horse. Except for this song (and a few select Norwegian profanities, uff da!), I don’t know this language, but that’s about to change!

  • I will learn to pull a sweet shot of espresso from these people. My husband will learn how to run his own coffee shop, and I’m sure there’ll be a lot of learning for both of us the next few months.


What about you? What are you going to learn? What do you plan to do with your one wild and precious summer? 

Leave a Reply

