meatless monday: the best cookie in the world

Fwd: How I fell in love with the world’s greatest cookie | Public Radio International

I saw this article and because it’s set in Brooklyn, I couldn’t help but think of you. Please go find this place and buy a cookie. Then, send me a review. I have to know if its as good as they claim!!

Love you lots,
Beth

That’s an email from a longtime childhood friend. Yesterday I decided to make all of her wildest dreams come true, and took pilgrimage to Beaner Bar on Graham Ave. It was so windy and not warm and a 2-mile journey by foot so I was desperate for both the world’s best cookie and a hot drink.

beaner bar.

beaner bar.

We all have pretty stringent requirements for what makes a cookie the best in the world, right? I think most of us can agree on a few things:

A cookie must have both crunchy and chewy components.
The quality of chocolate used (and yes, chocolate is required) must be high and mustn’t be overlooked.
Texture, texture, texture.
And finally: and element of flavor interest, i.e. sea salt, a smack of spice or a subtle undertone of…something.

So was Beaner Bar’s Best Cookie in the World–a pretty golden treat studded generously with rich, chocolatey discs, laced with surprise kicks of cayenne and cardamom, and finished with sea salt–just that?

I have to say: it was prett-ay, prett-ay, prett-ay, pretty good. It’s also worth saying: I got the very last one from the jar.

This kind of statement making, though, is not to be taken lightly and will require a second visit. If not for the cookie, then definitely for round 2 of the outstanding Mexican Mocha: Counter Culture espresso, hand-ground chocolate spiked with cinnamon, nutmeg, and cayenne, steamed milk and garnished with a cinnamon stick.

So tell me: what’s the best cookie in the world?

One response to “meatless monday: the best cookie in the world

  1. I love reading your blog! I’m always finding inspiration. So guess what? I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award!

    http://nourishingeden.com/ive-been-nominated/

Leave a Reply

